Stitchery

This week at my school was Agora Days. It’s hard to pick my favorite thing about my job, but if I made a top ten list, Agora Days would be on it for sure. During this week, regular classes are cancelled and students and teachers get to teach courses on topics they are passionate about. I sponsored student classes on Slam Poetry, Spongebob Square Pants, Knitting, and the History of Aviation through the Movie Airplane. Toward the end of the day on Friday, the students from the Lady Gaga Dance class flash mobbed the hallway and performed the dance from the Bad Romance video. It was awesome. I also completed a lot of hand stitching while I was sitting in class with students including this hoop for a former student who is now a middle school math teacher in LA. The pattern for the outline of the pie is a Sublime Stitching pattern and I added in the cherries freehand.

I also finished this hoop for my partner in the Make Mine Modern Swap on Flickr. The quotation is from Jane Austen’s novel Love and Friendship. The novel was written when she was a teenager and the quotation was popularized in the Patricia Rozema adaptation of Mansfield Park. It took some serious internet sleuthing to find out the my partner is an Austen fan so I’m pretty proud of this one.

I also finished this lace scarf that I’ve been working on for over a year–it’s been an off and on (more off than on) project. It’s blocking right now and I’m looking forward to seeing what it looks like finished. The yarn isĀ Ella Rae Lace Merino and once it is blocked I’ll evaluate if it is for me or if it will be gifted. I really like the pattern of the lace, but I’m not convinced I can wear a triangular shawl. This is my third attempt–the last two have been too small and bandana like. This one is a little bigger but I’m still not sure. Somehow I would like to figure out how to find the stylish middle ground between bandana and baboushka. If this one doesn’t work, I may have to give up on the triangle and stick to skinny rectangle scarves.

This entry was posted in knitting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stitchery

  1. Bryanna says:

    I would have loved to have seen the Bad Romance dance! How fun! And I love the JA hoop!! You have been a swap partner before so probably not likely to be mine now but I still want this! And congrats on finishing such a long term project! Love the color of that lace.

    • mslinder says:

      Thanks, Bryanna! I was totally inspired by the Jane Austen quote I saw when I was stalking you for the scrappy hoop swap–I’ve just been waiting for the right time to make something similar. The Bad Romance dance was so amazing–the kids had all dressed up and were wrapped in caution tape and had crazy make-up on. If it weren’t creepy to post pictures of my students on my personal blog I would love to share.

Leave a Reply

