5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Things About Me

5.4.3.2.1. things about...

I’ve enjoyed reading the 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Things About series on Craft and thought I might play along. I would love it if you, my phantom readers, also played along–either in the comments or on your own blog.

me! Here I am at the top of the bell tower at Pisa. I don’t put a lot of photos of myself on the ole’ blog, but I do think it is interesting to see what people like, especially when you’ve been looking at their projects for awhile.

One project you are especially proud of:

julia's stacheI’m proud of pretty much everything that I have made because I’m still pleased with myself for making the time to do it and following through on a project. Am I the only one who feels that way? I know that I joined flickr and started this blog so that I could share what I make with other people and my poor husband didn’t have to tell me over and over how cute something is. I do really love this little sweater I knit for my niece for Christmas. It’s the only non-scarf item I’ve ever successfully knitted and I think it is so stinking cute and impractical at the same time.

Two mistakes you’ve made in the past:

1. Well, I quilted my first two quilts on an old (but not old enough) Singer with no walking foot. I ended up having to spend hours ripping out quilting in both of them. Luckily they were both gifted to people who love me and were willing to over look the serious imperfections.

2. Every minute I keep sewing past bedtime exponentially increases the chances of me sewing pieces together incorrectly. The problem is that I can be so into a project that I don’t know I’m tired until I’ve had to rip out the same seam three or four times.

Three things that make your work unique:

right round1. I combine a lot of hand stitching with printed or stitched text. I’m not the only one doing it, but some of my favorite projects combine fabric, stitching, and words.

2. I don’t sew quilts with full collections–I try to pull colors myself for my patchwork projects. I don’t know if I always succeed, but I always try to put some unpredictable fabrics in the mix.

3. I’m me and I’m not a perfectionist, which may not make me unique in the sense that no one else is making projects like mine, but unique in that no two projects will ever be the same because I don’t have the patience for that.

Four tools you love:

sugar star

1. Rotary cutter and cutting mat.

2. Embroidery hoops and floss. I could spend hours looking at the colors of embroidery floss.

3. My Janome DC 2010, Jane. She’s a lover, not a fighter and has totally changed my feelings about sewing.

4. Washi tape. Maybe not a tool, but SO COOL.

Five inspirations:
felix's owl softie 1. My nieces, nephews and siblings. Every one in my family is creative and I love turning their drawings and musings into stitched objects.

2. I’m totally on the pinterest bandwagon.

rainy daze

 

3. Flickr, swaps, and blogs. I love, love, love seeing what other people are making and finding inspiration in the photos they post.

4. Literature. I love incorporating words and quotations into my projects and, as an English teacher, I draw a lot of inspiration from books (c.f. my Jane Austen mini quilt).

5. Crafty friends. I have a couple good friends who also make things and getting together to watch movies and eat snacks while we do handwork is one of my favorite ways to spend a weeknight or weekend afternoon.

There you have it. If you enjoyed reading 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 things about me, perhaps you will share something about yourself in the comments section. Or, if you feel inspired to do a blog post, please share a link with me.

This entry was posted in blah blah blah, knitting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Things About Me

  1. Kerry says:

    I loved reading that- I think I might join in and do the same although some of my answers are almost the same- maybe that is the English/teaching background! The little sweater is the funniest cutest thing!

  2. Dawn Alley says:

    I loved reading this! Your answers made me laugh out loud — especially the late night sewing! — and I LOVE the Jane Austen mini-quilt!

  3. joon says:

    Hi Suzette… I thoroughly enjoyed your things about me post. It’s been on my to-do list and yours has inspired me. I thank you. I loved looking at your flickr photo stream as well. Lovely photos – especially enjoyed Italy (although 2012? are you a time traveler? :) ) Your guide looks exactly like everyone in my family. It is eerie – in a cool way. I’ll come back and post a link once I’ve written my 54321. Have a beautiful day and best to you as you start your new school year. joon

Leave a Reply

