Stocking Stuffers

coin purses Inspired by the coin pouch I received in the 3rd round of the pretty {little} pouch swap, and this beauty by Leila,  I wanted to try my hand at making a coin purse. I ordered the frames from here and they took about three weeks to arrive from China (I was not always patient during these three weeks). Thankfully the frames arrived just in time for Thanksgiving break and I got to try my hand over the weekend. I’m hoping to make a number of these as stocking stuffers and small gifts for friends.

The frames I ordered didn’t come with a pattern, which is a little unfortunate. Apparently most frames come with a pattern. The etsy seller directed me to this tutorial for making your own pattern which seems simple, but I tried twice and am not 100% satisfied with the result.

tiny squares side aThis is my first attempt, and you can see that the top is too narrow for the frame (especially at the base of the frame). Unfortunately, I had invested way too much time in making that tiny little patchwork*, so I glued the heck out of it and think that it will hold.

stripes side aThis is my second attempt which fits much better than the first, but it still not perfect. I’m wishing that I had done a couple practice versions with plain fabric before I committed to these patchwork numbers. I suppose I still could, but once I get rolling on a project it is hard to reverse that energy.

*I made the patchwork by cutting 1.25″ strips and sewing them together, then cutting that finished product into 1.25″ strips and sewing those into squares. Not hard, but time consuming.

This entry was posted in sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stocking Stuffers

  1. Think they look gorgeous and I´m sure the recipients will be thrilled!

  2. randi says:

    the pouches are super cute! i have some frames, but just haven’t used them yet. soon….:)

  3. felicity says:

    These are fabulous! I’m woman enough to admit that pouch frames scare the ever-loving crap out of me. I simply cannot fathom how I could possibly make one work.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I am in LOVE w/ these!!! The big red beads are delightful!

Leave a Reply

