Words about Books

Thank you to everyone who has recommended books to me over the last 36 hours! With the sewmamasew giveaway day open until Friday, I thought I would take a few minutes to respond to some of the book recommendations that I’ve received in my comments over the last two days and perhaps offer a few of my own.

Books that have been recommended that I have already read and loved: Barbara Kingsolver’s fiction, Princess Bride (one of the rare instances I love the movie adaptation as much as the book), anything by Wally Lamb, both Franzen’s (although I enjoyed Freedom more than The Corrections and, while I think he’s a good writer, he isn’t the literary reincarnation of Jesus), A Prayer for Owen Meaney, The Hunger Games trilogy (have you seen the trailer?? Can’t wait!), His Dark Materials series,  The Help (although I have mixed feeling about this one), Girl With a Dragon Tattoo series, (mixed feelings here too), Water for Elephants, Secret Life of Bees, Time Traveller’s Wife, Goon Squad (LOVED the chapter told via powerpoint), Persepolis, Fun House (if you haven’t read this, you totally should).

Books that have been recommended that I tried and weren’t for me (but I totally understand that others enjoy them): Outlander series, Twilight series, pretty much any romance, science fiction, or fantasy.

Books that I’m so excited to add to my list: Cloudstreet (this has been on my list for awhile but it just moved up), The Go-Between, The Sense of an Ending, Salvage the Bones, These is my Words, The Elegance of the Hedgehog, City of Light, and Started Early, Took my Dog (I’m a huge Kate Atkinson fan and had missed this one)

And here are some recommendations from me that haven’t shown up in the comments yet: The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks, Motherless Brooklyn, The Brothers K (by David James Duncan), My Year of Meats, Carter Beat the Devil, The Brief, Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao, Blankets

And here’s to reading! Thank you for all of your book recommendations. I just got a line on a library copy of 1Q84 and my winter break starts in a few days so I think I know what I’ll be reading for the rest of 2011. Please come back and tell me what you think of any of these books, or find me on goodreads and we can talk about books there.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in blah blah blah. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Words about Books

  1. Joyatee says:

    I loved the Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao. Junot Diaz taught at my undergrad institution when the book came out, and one of my friends took many of his classes. We were able to have him come talk to our Literary Society, and he spoke about some of his inspirations for the book. His other collection of short stories, Drown (I think is the name), is really good, too.

  2. elizabethdx says:

    I loved your list of recommendations, and was especially pleased to see The Disreputable History of Frankie Landauer-Banks. Smart smart book. I’m adding your recommendations to my list. Thanks.

  3. felicity says:

    Thanks for that list!

  4. Pingback: And the winner is… | Girl For All Seasons

Leave a Reply

