A Pirate’s Life for Me!

first layerYou may recall that I was making letterpress cards as Christmas gifts back in November. Along with one set of note cards, I gave my sister-in-law a gift certificate to spend an afternoon printing with me at The Living Letter Press. We were finally able to coordinate a time to print together last week (no small feat, considering she has three boys under 5 and lives 3 hours away). Big thanks go out to my parents who watched the kids so that we could play. Amanda went into the afternoon without a distinct plan, just hoping to play with what she found. She was instantly attracted to some of the big wooden type that the press has and decided to make a poster for her middle son (my nephew and godson), Felix. Felix is waaay into pirates and apparently sings “A Pirate’s Life for Me” to himself in bed.

Amanda inking the press It was super fun to be at the press with Amanda, who is a graphic designer, and has such a fresh and distinct perspective. I love her finished product.

Yo Ho! I worked on a much smaller scale and made a set of note cards using a variety of ampersands. It’s an idea I’ve had in the back of my mind since the last time I was at the press and I’m not sure if I totally love it. They are still drying at the press and I’m hoping when I see them in person again I might like them a little more.

and some more If you live in Illinois (or Indiana), you should come visit me this Saturday for the Urbana-Champaign Mini Maker Faire. Pretty much all my creative energy the last few months has been directed at organizing the faire and it’s going to be really excellent. Living Letter Press will be there, along with a lot of other very fun booths. If you’ve ever wanted to learn to solder, now is totally your chance.

This entry was posted in printing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Pirate’s Life for Me!

  1. Wish I lived closer, I would love to come! Hope all of your organizing leads to a hugely successful faire and that you have a super fun time.

  2. elizabeth says:

    I love love love this! Although I admit I’m envious! I want to come too… maybe next time. Nice prints!!!

Leave a Reply

