I am Chickiboom

RAWR Hear me roar!

A couple of years ago, I visited Fancy Tiger Crafts in Denver, CO with my niece (then 3 1/2 and very worried that I didn’t know my way home) and she helped me pick out this needle felting kit. I don’t know why it took me so long to try it. Chickiboom is the second chick to be born from my felting needle. He has a much bigger mouth than his older sister, who has returned to Colorado to live with my nieces.

baby chick

The First Born

The basics of needle felting are not hard to master (although keeping your fingers out of the way is still a technique I’m working on). I can see that the more intricate or tiny work that people do takes a degree of precision that I haven’t mastered yet. The process is satisfyingly sculptural.

fab little pincushion front

Along with needle felting, I spent some time this weekend working on this little pin cushion. It’s my first granny square block and I used Blue Elephant Stitches’ tutorial. I wanted a smaller block for a pin cushion, so I made the original squares 1.5 inches, and they finished to about 1 inch in the pattern. It was a nice chance to use some fun fabric scraps I’ve been hoarding.

pinnie back I really wanted to use the blue quilter’s linen for the back, but only had a 3 inch wide strip of it. When I found the lace hiding in my scrap bin, I used it to hide the seam that runs down the middle of the back. Chickiboom felt like he needed to be the center of attention this afternoon and jumped into this photo at the last minute.

This entry was posted in sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am Chickiboom

  1. Annaliese says:

    he is a handsome chikiboom :) and the lace is a lovely delicate touch to such a sweet pincushion. nicely done!

  2. felicity says:

    I am in love with chikiboom. And not just because of his awesome name!

Leave a Reply

