Destashing and it Feels So Good

destash for Jennifer

So I destashed all of this fabric. Looking at it now, even after it is claimed and boxed and waiting for delivery, I’m not totally sure how I feel about it leaving. I haven’t been sewing much in the last year and at all in the last six months or so. The last quilt I made was in August 2011 and I only finished it because it was a gift for a baby whose arrival was imminent. I haven’t wanted to be in my sewing room for a number of complicated reasons (having to do with energy and family and inspiration). The hundreds of dollars of fabric that I have sitting in there were making me uncomfortable as they went unused week after week. I have a friend from high school who has started quilting and I sent her a message last week asking if she would be interested in buying a bunch of fabric from me. Even after she said yes, I hesitated to pull the fabric, photograph, and price it for her.

And then yesterday morning I woke up ready to make a new baby quilt. I started pulling possible fabric for the quilt, and at the same time pulled fabric to destash. Now that my fabric shelves are much leaner I suddenly feel lighter and more ready to sew. I don’t know how long it will last, and I certainly don’t think it is a simple linear relationship, but the destashing felt good. I’ve read about others feeling this sense of relief when they destash and I never really got it until today. What do you think that is about?

This entry was posted in blah blah blah. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Destashing and it Feels So Good

  1. Felicity says:

    Clearly, the destash was the right idea. Enjoy your newly renewed inspiration!

  2. Pingback: a not very low volume quilt top | Girl For All Seasons

Leave a Reply

