Finished Quilt!

baby quiltI have a new niece on the way so it was time to start and finish a quilting project. I really enjoyed working on this one over the thanksgiving break. It remains to be seen if there is another quilt in the works, but for now I’m very happy with this one.

greet the day with a song

It started out as a low volume quilt, but quickly became colorful. I used several special fabrics and love seeing them in the finished project.

rounded corners I rounded the corners because I think this makes a baby quilt look more casual and usable. I’m constantly trying to convince my friends and family that quilts are meant to be used.

bias bindingThis was my first time making bias binding and while it took me a long time to figure out exactly how to make the continuous strip (I had drawn my pencil marks the wrong direction), I was pleased with how easily the bias binding attached to the round corners.

pin basting

If there is another quilt in my near future, it’s definitely time to buy more spray binding. I ran out after attaching the quilt top to the batting so ended up having to pin baste the whole thing in order to keep the backing fabric in place.

This entry was posted in quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finished Quilt!

  1. Barbara says:

    I absolutely LOVE this quilt. You must make more quilts – you have such a great eye for colour. I love ALL the fabrics you used!

  2. felicity says:

    I lovety love love every single thing about this quilt.

  3. elizabeth says:

    Be. still. my. heart. I am wordless…. I am the lucky mama to the baby girl who will receive this quilt. Suzanne— I seriously cried when I saw this. It is one of the most beautiful quilts I’ve evern seen. It compliments the fabrics you gifted me awhile back, which I used to make coverlets for the other girls. Beyond perfect!!! I am humbled!!!

  4. sewkatiedid says:

    What a cute quilt. I love the addition of the rounded corners!

  5. Joanna says:

    so so so so gorgeous! The colours are just perfect… beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

