Vintage Stamps!

letters mingle souls I was following links on the internet last weekend when I found information about a man who sells unused vintage stamps. I dropped him an email on Saturday morning and today I held in my hand an amazing collection of unused US postal stamps. I had asked for balloons, dinosaurs, rocket ships, and animals, but am most delighted with the stamps I didn’t ask for. He included a number of postal themed stamps which are delightfully meta to be using during The Month of Letters.

american poultry industry My favorite single stamp is this chicken, celebrating the Centennial of the American Poultry Industry. A very important event in 1948.

balloonsI only recently realized that you could use vintage postage to send letters (but when I think about it, of course you can. The PO can’t put an expiration date on stamps) and I am excited to have some in my hot little hands. Remember that we used to have to lick stamps to make them stick? Hot hands are a liability with those stamps.

This entry was posted in letters. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vintage Stamps!

  1. felicity says:

    The post office people always look at my strangely when I buy stamps and specify that I want “fancy” ones. But I love my fancy stamps! And I especially love these fancy vintage stamps. A chicken stamp!

  2. PostMuse says:

    Murph is a sweetheart! I have a standing monthly order with him … $20 worth of vintage every month. Some of my penfriends get so very creative with the vintage postage … matching images and/or colors. I am not quite so organized.

    I store my vintage in a small photo brag book. That way they are visible, protected and I can sort them by denomination.

  3. jenny says:

    many moons ago, i bought stamps because i thought they were cool and put them in a stamp collection album…i really ought to find those! i know i have quilt stamps, doll stamps…and the post office did a series for each decade…those too! im sure none are as charming as Murphs!

  4. Kristen says:

    Neat! I have some from the Olympics in ’84! I found them under a magnetic(?) sheet in an old sticker book from middle school.

Leave a Reply

