Friends Long Absent Quilt

Thank you to all of you who have entered my giveaway. It’s still open for a few more days and you can enter here.

This is the quilt that inspired the blog. I had been thinking about jumping into blogging but had been putting it off for various reasons. However, when I completed this quilt and then went out to dinner and got a fortune cookie that read “Friends long absent are coming back to you,” I knew there was a story I wanted to tell.

This quilt is for my friend Rachel who used to live in Illinois until she got married and moved to Seattle (which is how she ended up pregnant and in need of a baby quilt). There are certain people I’ve met in my life that I can only describe, in the words of Anne Shirley, as “bosom buddies.” Rachel is one of those friends and while I was happy for her in her marriage, I was sad that she moved to Seattle. These days she talks about her family’s plans to move back to Illinois and recently it’s been feeling like a real possibility. So this quilt carries my hope and faith that my fortune and Rachel’s wishes will come true and, in the mean time, this cheerful quilt will welcome her daughter into the world.

The blocks for this quilt were made by my quilting bee and they are wonky (some more than others) log cabin blocks made primarily of Monaluna Mingle with some Erin McMorris and Meadowsweet thrown in for variety. The solids are Kona Sky and Tangerine. The center of the blocks are mostly Heather Ross prints but there is at least one patch of Alexander Henry Owls and a couple Japanese hedgehog prints as well. 

I quilted very minimally–just one straight line on each side of the seams joining the blocks and once around each inner square. I prefer the look of a more quilted finish, but the feel of less quilting (especially for a baby quilt).

The binding is another Monaluna Mingle print that I didn’t use for construction of the blocks. I left it out of the blocks because I thought it was overwhelming in big pieces, but really like the effect of little bits of it in the binding. 

Unrelated to the quilt, I was thinking I might try  my hand at writing a tutorial for the needle book that I made, but it also seems like a really simple project. Is that something that you would like to see or is it obvious how to make one?

This entry was posted in quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friends Long Absent Quilt

  1. Wendy says:

    I’d like to see more close-ups of the squares, but I know from skype that Rachel already has the quilt. So beautiful. I love the orange and blue (we’re loyal, to you…).

    • mslinder says:

      How come you got to Skype with Rachel about the quilt and I just got a FB message? Obviously there is an imbalance that needs to be rectified. I’m not sure that I have any close up photos so we may need to rely on Rachel for those. The orange and blue were not an intentional reference to hometown pride, but it does seem like they nicely reinforce my not-so-subtle message.

  2. Molly says:

    Such a lovely quilt and lovely story. I would be interested in the needle book tutorial for sure! Simple or not, I love tutes.

  3. Susan says:

    Rachel’s quilt is lovely! I’m sure she loves it and feels the love you have put into it!

  4. Rachel Bass Guennewig says:

    Rachel could not feel more special by Suzanne’s quilt. 🙂 She will try to post a picture of it hanging on the wall. It is SUCH a perfect set of colors and fun for the room. It makes Rachel feel so grateful to be known by Suzanne and her ability to pick prints and colors that suit her family. Yes, Rachel is speaking in the 3rd person.

    • mslinder says:

      Ha! Somehow I missed this until just now. Glad to know that the colors match the room since I had no idea how you were decorating and started the quilt before you knew the sex of the baby.

  5. Katy says:

    I love all tutorials, and even with something simple I find I often see new ways of doing things… just my 2 cents 🙂

Leave a Reply

