Auditioning Fabric

I’m auditioning fabric for the Lily’s Quilts quilt along. This is my first quilt along and, because she’s chosen a Dresden plate pattern, it will be my first curved piecing. Lily has provided templates and promised lots of guidance along the way so I’m taking a deep breath and plunging in.

I was looking at other participants photos of their fabric choices on my lunch at work today and couldn’t stop thinking about what I would use. I’m going to do the mini-quilt version as I’m not yet ready to commit to making a full sized quilt.

My fabric choices (unless I change my mind) are a little Cosmo Cricket Early Bird that I’ve been hording since my birthday last July, some Cosmo Cricket Tailor Made, a little Heather Bailey Pop Garden, some polka dots that I’m sure I could locate the designer of if I looked at the selvedge, and at least one print of unknown origin (that funky red and teal one in the upper left hand corner).  I’m going to be out of town next week for spring break so I may work ahead and cut my fabrics this week, at which point I’ll be committed.

Bravery and cunning!!

Lily's Quilts QAL
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Auditioning Fabric

  1. I like your choices, they’re pretty. But I always get nervous when I actually have to cut into fabric, I even goofed some up today!! Yikes!

  2. mslinder says:

    Thank you! I’ve been waiting to use a lot of this fabric and it feels like it is time to use it or lose it. I don’t get that nervous about cutting into fabric because I’m usually so excited to get started on a project. This one, with all the Dresden blades, does seem a little intimidating.

  3. Lora says:

    Ooohh such pretty fabrics! I think the yellow ones and the blue one with the weird circle shapes on it are my favorites. Are you going to have any solids in your mini quilt? I’m using stash so there are no solids at all!

    • mslinder says:

      Thanks for compliment on the fabrics. I’m not 100% confident when putting together fabrics so it’s nice to hear when others think they look good. I’m thinking white or Kona Ash for the center and frame, but I haven’t settled on that.

  4. Rhonda says:

    I found you through the QAL. Like you I will probably be using fabric I have been hoarding. I am a little apprehensive about cutting into it. I think you have made some gorgeous choices. I am heading to my blog to share the same information. OH boy…seems like I am committed once I type it LOL geez!!

    • mslinder says:

      Yay for commitment! Although I also have some trepidation and I’m only making the mini quilt. I think I just need to pull myself together and start cutting.

  5. nicke cutler says:

    oh pretty pretty pretty!!! i love it!

Leave a Reply

