Penny’s Pillow

completed commissionHere is the completed commission. I made this pillow for my friend Rachel who is taking it as a gift to her friend Amy. Amy just had her first baby, Penny, and this pillow is to decorate her room for now and eventually for Penny to use as she would like. I started by putting together this pinterest board and pulling some fabrics. Once Rachel let me know which cute little prints she liked and gave me permission to “go full girly” with the pillow, I got working. Originally I thought I would have one pink square, one green square, one orange square, and one yellow square, but as I was putting together the blocks, I kept coming back to the pink and green so, while you see orange and yellow in there, the predominant colors are pink and green. Once I recognized the color theme, it helped me choose the sashing and the stitch color.

I did a little echo quilting around each fussy cut image and then did a stitch in the ditch on the inside of the pink frame. I used some Nicey Jane for the back and made an envelope closure, but I failed to take a picture before I gave it to Rachel. I’m happy to report that she loves it!

The weather yesterday didn’t allow me to get a great photo of the pillow, but you can see the detail of the hand stitching in this photo.
detail

I worked out my answer to the commission question of yesterday–I am charging my friend a flat fee for the fabric and she is going to color my step-daughter’s hair in exchange for the labor. I feel much better about that transaction than if I had put a price on this project. Maybe some day I will enter the world of sewing for profit, but I’m really not there yet!

I’ve decided to enter it in the Stitched in Color Bloggers Pillow Party. You can check out all the entries by clicking the image below.

Blogger's Pillow Party
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Penny’s Pillow

  1. Lora says:

    Gorgeous pillow! Penny is one lucky baby girl!

  2. Oh I love this, and the hand stitching, great!!

  3. Manda says:

    Fabulous pillow… that little girl in the top corner is so so cute!

  4. carey says:

    I love this pillow! The hand stitching really adds a sweet touch. 🙂

  5. I love the hand sewing, so nice to look at.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Your pillow is absolutely beautiful!

  7. this is amazing! i love it!

  8. What a sweet pillow! my favorite detail is the name “Penny” embroidered. Adorable.

Leave a Reply

