Flickr Explore and More Sashiko

This morning held a nice surprise. When I got up my gmail inbox had far more messages than usual and they were almost all from flickr. A sure sign that something was up. The last time this happened and the view numbers on only one of my photos spiked (up over 1,000 by the time I noticed), I had no clue what was going on, but this time I had an inkling. One of my photos had found its way into flickr explore. Explore is a rotating list of the 500 “most interesting” photos on flickr. They are chosen by a top secret computer algorythm (no, there isn’t some nice person scrolling through all photos looking for the best ones–though that would be nice) that calculates the interestingness of each of your photos. The interestingness rating has something to do with number of views, number of favorites, number of comments and the rate at which a photo accrues those comments but isn’t clear to me beyond that.

One of the cool things that happened because of being featured in explore is that another flickr user added my photo to a gallery of sashiko images that included a link to this set by feltcafe of a Japanese sashiko craft book. There are some really fun images of dishes stitched in sashiko style. 9784277311711

I love these rice bowls.

9784277311711

I bought my sashiko supplies at Fancy Tiger Crafts when I was in Denver last month and I have to say that I loved the shop. If I hadn’t been with my 3 year old neice I could have lost a whole day to them. As far as I can tell, the sashiko needle and thread are both bigger and thicker than embroidery floss, but I think you could cheat and use embroidery floss and most Americans wouldn’t know the difference. I also picked up some needle felting supplied at Fancy Tiger but I haven’t had a chance to try them out yet.

This entry was posted in blah blah blah, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flickr Explore and More Sashiko

  1. felicity says:

    Congrats on the Explore!!

  2. Kerry says:

    I loved your Sashiko, it will make a wonderful pouch! I am just getting into it at the moment- there is a swap on FLickr which is meant to be starting up sometime soon- the link is http://www.flickr.com/groups/sashiko_tea_towel_swap/
    and inspired by the book Sashiko Zakka

  3. Leila says:

    Congrats on your Explore! You should join in on the Sashiko Tea towel swap like Kerry suggested already. I bet it’s going to be lots of fun 🙂

  4. mslinder says:

    Oh!!! Thanks for the tip on the swap, Kerry (and the encouragement Leila and congrats Felicity). I’ll definitely join.

Leave a Reply

