A Couple Finishes and Other Awesomeness

My redwork quilt has been complete for a couple of weeks but I’ve been waiting on the fate of the Modern Relief raffle to share it. For reasons that are too boring and stupid to relate, the raffle didn’t happen and after a couple weeks of contemplation, I have decided to make a donation myself to Mercy Corps and give this quilt as a gift. Now my biggest question is if I should wash the quilt before giving it or assume that the recipient will use it as a wall hanging and leave it fresh.

I also finished the sashiko pouch that I was working on last week and I’m really happy with the result. I did the second half of the stitching while working the door at the first ever Urbana-Champaign Mini Makers Faire which was *awesome* and I can hardly wait for the second Mini Makers Faire (currently set for as early as October) where I’m hoping the Uni High Knitting Club will host a booth. My favorite thing at the Makers Faire might have been CMKT 4 who mess with the circuits of toys to make the craziest sounds.

Here is the completed pouch. It’s going in the mail today or tomorrow–it’s all packaged up but the rain right now is not making me want to go on any extra trips. Although, I did just get a notice from the library that three books on sashiko stitching that I requested have all arrived so I will venture out in the rain for those. Maybe after work things will have calmed down a little.

Here’s the pouch in action. It’s just the right size for a phone, keys, and a little cash for a night on the town. I like it so much that I may be making versions of this as gifts for lots of women (and snappy dressing men) in my life.

This entry was posted in blah blah blah, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Couple Finishes and Other Awesomeness

  1. Lexi says:

    Wow, this redwork quilt is just gorgeous! I may need to try something like this!

  2. felicity says:

    Love the redwork quilt! I think the Christmas Tree is my favourite, followed by the sewing machine. I would leave it unwashed.

    The Sashiko pouch is awesome!

  3. randi says:

    what a lovely quilt! i think it’s great that you are donating it. it will bring someone joy, for sure!

  4. Bryanna says:

    Love love love that sashinko pouch!! Great thread color choices too!

  5. Suzanne says:

    Aw, thanks everyone. I agree with Felicity that I should leave the quilt unwashed. I am just nervous that if my aunt decides to wash it and using even warm water it will bleed…

  6. Leanne says:

    Your quilt is beautiful!

  7. Wow, your quilt is so pretty. SO, pretty. I really need to do a log cabin someday. It looks quite relaxing.

    You know, I noticed your pouch in the swap. It’s so lovely! wish it were mine =). Where did you learn your sashiko from? I’ll be doing a project in it soon, and I’ve never done it before…

  8. Pingback: Windy Day Winner! | Girl For All Seasons

Leave a Reply

