Echino Bag

Today was a school holiday (and a dreary, rainy one at that), so it was the perfect time to hunker down and do some work on a sewing project. I used this pattern, but instead of a short strap that ties, I made one long strap so the bag can be worn across the body. I love the Echino print and I lined the inside with some of the new Denise Schmidt DS Quilts fabric from JoAnn’s. 

I put a zippered pocked inside the lining,
which I think makes the bag far more practical. I struggled some with making the pocket and the zipper look perfect, but in the end it works. I also embroidered around some of the images on the front to add a little more visual interest to the bag. All in all, I’m happy with the shape and color choices and the pattern was easy to follow. This is the first bag that I’ve made since I was in Home Ec in high school and it took longer and involved more fussing than I anticipated (fussing on my part, and fussing with zippers and linings and fabric). However, I think with a little more practice, I’ll be faster and happier with the results. Here are some close ups of the hand stitching.


This entry was posted in sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Echino Bag

  1. felicity says:

    Awesome bag! Echino is just perfect for bags. I especially love the little X stitches.

  2. Ooh, it is super cute! Love your little embroidery details too.

  3. Leanne says:

    Lovely bag! I especially like the pocket, are there sunglasses fabric in it?

Leave a Reply

