Fresh Sewing Day!

Fresh Sewing Day @ Lily's QuiltsSo fun! Today is Fresh Sewing Day at Lily’s Quilts (the funnest spot on the web, if you ask me). I find it surprisingly difficult to choose my favorite project from the last month, although if I look back through my completed projects for the month, it is safe to say that April has been the month of the zipper pouch. I don’t know why it took me so long to figure out that they are the perfect project for when you want to make something but don’t have a lot of time.
The one that garnered the most attention on flickr was this sashiko pouch that I’ve sent off to my Pretty {little} Pouch Swap partner (although it seems not to have arrived yet). 
But I think my favorite finish this month is this little pouch I made for myself. I rarely sew for myself these days, but I am happy every time I pull this out of my knitting bag. I was inspired by this series of sewing tools that Nova at Cuppa and a Catch Up made.
And the newest pouch I’ve made, making it’s debut on the blog today, is this one from yesterday. It was made for a specific person but with no particular purpose in mind. I’m hoping it will be big enough to be useful for any number of tote-able items. Along with feeling the pouch love this month, I’ve really been feeling the Echino love. I have enough fabrics now that I can start on an Echino quilt, I just have to decide what I want the blocks to look like. Maybe by next month?

This entry was posted in sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fresh Sewing Day!

  1. Flying Blind says:

    Great pouches! Mmmm an Echino quilt would be the best!

  2. Susan says:

    Love the purple pouch with it’s stitching.

  3. felicity says:

    Love all the pouches – to me, Echino is *perfect* for a bag or pouch. A little heavier-weight, and those gorgeous prints.

  4. Becky M says:

    ooh, love all the pouches! I don’t think I saw the sashiko pouch on the flickr group, but I adore it!

  5. Catherine says:

    I love your purses, they are great. I have just discovered these items too – I have not gone near them before because they had zips, but now I can whip them up in no time. Well done, they are lovely

  6. That second pouch is SUPER cute!!

  7. tusen says:

    They are all great but your favourite is definitely my favourite, too. I love the fabrics and the quilting – everything about it, really 🙂

  8. mslinder says:

    Thank you for your encouragement, everyone. I see many cute little pouches in my future.

  9. Elvy says:

    I love your sashiko work. I did a bit of sashiko on linen a few months back (in a pattern very to yours), and this pouch has really inspired me to turn my square into something functional!

Leave a Reply

