W.I.P. Wednesday

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

This week I’ve been working on a Jane Austen inspired mini-quilt. I can’t show you my whole plan or even all that I have finished because it is a surprise for the recipient. However, I can show you a sneak peek of what I have finished. I’m done with the appliqué and hand stitching and am now waiting for some special fabric to do a patchwork border around the hand work. This is for a private swap I arranged with quilter and Jane Austen fan Bry and you can see the inspiration board I put together for myself at pinterest.

Because it’s a mini-quilt and meant to hang on the wall, I’m tempted to leave the dress simply fused to the fabric and held on by the hand stitching. I’m worried that if I stitch around it with my machine I will mess up the edges. However, I also worry that perhaps it looks unfinished without a line of stitching around the edge. The quotation is one of my favorites from Jane, although not one of her more witty ones which I’m now having second thoughts about. If you can figure out the quotation from the little bit I’ve shown you, leave your guess in the comments and I’ll send a prize to the first person who gets it right.

I finished another Echino pouch this week to take to my sister in law this weekend in Chicago. She has been using a sad zipper pouch I made her ten years ago to carry around her make up and I’m hoping she will appreciate this update.

Finally, I ordered some colorful zippers and these zipper pulls for my I Heart the 80s swap partner. I haven’t decided what I’m going to make her, but I know now that it will have a zipper in it because, how. cute. are. those???

This entry was posted in sewing, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to W.I.P. Wednesday

  1. Becky M says:

    oh wow, can’t wait to see more of the Jane Austen mini quilt. That dress is adorable in Tula!

  2. Debbie says:

    Darling mini quilt!

  3. kwiltmakr says:

    I took a peek at the zipper pulls, they are so cute.
    Your mini Jane Austin is nice. I don’t think the dress needs any machine stitching on it. It looks good to me.

  4. dee says:

    It’s, “We all have our own best guides within us, if only we would listen.”

  5. dee says:

    Sorry, hit the enter button too soon! Huge Austen fan here and I love your miniquilt peak! I’m so excited for whomever is getting it!

    It’s from Mansfield Park, the quote that is, which I just watched a new(er) version of on Monday!

    Love the owl in the Echino quilt and the quilting he’s next to!

    • mslinder says:

      Congratulations, Dee! You are quick and accurate. I just emailed you to get your snail mail address to send you your as-yet-to-be-determined prize. I just finished reading _My Jane Austen Summer_ which I guess is fan fiction based off of Mansfield Park and it was very enjoyable and made me want to reread MP.

      Did you watch the Patricia Rozema adaptation of Mansfield Park? I love that one.

  6. Bryanna says:

    Eeep! I am so excited! Not sure what the quote is but I LOVE the dress and think it looks fine without the additional stitching! The embroidered details are lovely! I am loving working on this swap!

  7. felicity says:

    The fabric you chose for the dress is perfect! And I don’t think it needs more stitching. Happy WIP Wed!

  8. amy says:

    what a cute mini quilt. love the tote.

  9. Rachel says:

    What a lovely idea for a mini quilt! Jane Austen quotes make everything better.

  10. Leanne says:

    The Jane Austin quilt is looking beautiful. I also really like that bag.

  11. Super fun zipper pulls! And Echino is always a stunner. I have plans to make my husband a duffle bag/diaper bag out of some echino and denim here soon…

    Excited to see full photos of the mini-quilt as well.

    I just subscribed to your blog – I like what you do! Found you through our Pretty {little} Pouch Swap on flickr. You can find me here: Bird and Bicycle

    – MaLora

  12. Katherine says:

    I love your off center circles! I saw a skirt pattern that uses two off center circles, I think I’m going to have to try it.

Leave a Reply

