Jane Austen Mini-Quilt

The Liberty fabric I ordered finally arrived, allowing me to finish my Jane Austen mini-quilt. This little one is for a private swap with Bry. We both made inspiration boards and shared some favorite Austen quotations and characters and then went for it. I was reading a Mansfield Park transposition when I started thinking about this one which must have influenced the choice of quotation.

This was my first time working with Liberty fabric was as soft and fine to handle as everyone says. I had to turn the tension way down on my sewing machine in order to assemble the patchwork strip. Here’s a view of it on the back of the quilt.

This entry was posted in quilts, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Jane Austen Mini-Quilt

  1. Kerry says:

    Very very pretty and a well chosen quote, Bry will love this!

    • mslinder says:

      Thank you! I certainly hope so. The Liberty is a little more orange than I had anticipated so I don’t love the color combination as much as I wanted to, but I think it works together when you take a step back.

  2. Leila says:

    So beautiful!

  3. Angelina says:

    So pretty! What Liberty fabrics did you use in that strip on the back? Was it a bundle or something? I love those colors!

    • mslinder says:

      It was a bundle that I bought from a seller on etsy, so I don’t know which fabrics they were. I went to Liberty when I was in London last summer but couldn’t bring myself to pay the price for yardage. These were very small pieces that I started with.

  4. Bells says:

    oh it’s beautiful. A lovely, lovely way to capture some Jane Austen words. Beautiful.

  5. andrea says:

    these are really nice!

  6. moralia says:

    Love this mini quilt!! What a wonderful swap! I just love Jane Austin! 🙂

  7. Annabel says:

    How divine! I do love the wisdom of Jane Austen’s gals. What a good idea for a swap!

  8. My daughter and I are in love with this!!! She is one of our favorite authors! 😉

  9. duff says:

    this mini-quilt is amazing! As a English/reading teacher and quilter, I am floored by its beauty!

  10. Bryanna says:

    OH. MY. GOODNESS.

    Seriously, I am floored!! This is GORGEOUS and I cannot wait to hang it in my room where I will see it every freaking day!! This is one of my favorite quotes and is especially true for my life right now. Having this amazing reminder every day is going to be amazing!

    You are soooooo amazing Suzanne!!

    Did I mention that this is GORGEOUS!!

    I am working on your diligently and I can only hope you like your as much as I love this!!!

    xoxoxoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

