Start of Something

start of something

Despite all my big talk about being excited for school to end and summer to start, it always takes me a few days to remember how to structure my time (and my stepkid’s time…but that’s another beast entirely) when I suddenly have no more work commitments. It took me a little while to get going, but these blocks are the start of something. Inspired by this quilt.

I notice whenever I make these wonky log cabin blocks, my wonk always tilts to the right. I need to remember that when I’m making them and try to spin the blocks the other way as well. The colors in the photo aren’t true–what looks like black is actually a deep blue shot cotton.

 

This entry was posted in quilts, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Start of Something

  1. Leila says:

    I love log cabin blocks, funny you should mention yours tilting to the right. I think mine tilt to the left more often..I have to go check on that!

    • Suzanne says:

      I did realize after I posted this that I could rotate the blocks 180 degrees and they would tilt left, but I do compose them with a right side up in mind.

  2. siobhan says:

    They are gorgeous. I have never tried these blocks. With summer hols aproaching and time on my hands I think I will give them a go 🙂

Leave a Reply

