Jane Austen Fresh Sewing Day

Jane Austen mini

I’m playing along with Lily’s Quilts Fresh Sewing Day. My apologies if you are tired of looking at this mini quilt, but it is definitely my favorite thing I’ve made this month.  It also got a lot of love on Sew Mama Sew Giveaway day and it made me thing that there are lots of book loving stitchers out there. I would love to see others make quilts inspired by literature (there’s the book nerd coming out in me). If you do make a quilt inspired by a book, please let me know!

The quotation is spoken by Fanny in Mansfield Park and it reads,

We all have our best guides within us, if only we would listen.

I used a back stitch for the embroidery and two strands of DMC floss. I found it easier to design a mini quilt around on of Austen’s more sincere quotations, but I would love to see what one of her more biting quips ends up looking like.

liberty

The dresses are appliqued with wonder under and then I added some decorative stitches on top of that. It was a last minute decision to quilt around them, but I like how it makes the dresses pop out. Other than that, the quilt is stitch in the ditch and some straight line quilting around the border. The patchwork pieces are a scrap pack of various Liberty prints that I bought from an etsy seller.

This mini quilt is going to Bry in a private swap and I can’t wait to see what she makes.

This entry was posted in quilts, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Jane Austen Fresh Sewing Day

  1. Sue says:

    What a great idea! I’ve never thought of doing something like this, but now the idea is buzzing around in my head. Yes, I’m a book nerd too! I’ve only recently considered making something small, before now I wanted the functionality of queen size. Isn’t is great how we go through these changes in what we like!

  2. The Cosy Tea says:

    This is a brilliant idea! You’ve really inspired me to try the same, now I just need to figure out which of my favourite books to turn into a mini quilt. Or maybe even songs…ooh too many ideas are now running through my head. The dresses are just adorable!

  3. I’d seen teasers, but not the finished mini, so thanks for linking up. It is really adorable – nice job!!

  4. Flying Blind says:

    So inspiring – brilliant!

  5. felicity says:

    Just beautiful!

  6. LornaE says:

    I love this Suzanne! So fun to see your creations.

  7. ohangelina says:

    what a lucky gal that bry is…its gorgeous..x

  8. Molly says:

    I absolutely love this little quilt! I love embroidery on a quilt, makes it seem more personal. This mini is a maxi-super (just made that up!) quilt 🙂

    • Suzanne says:

      I love “maxi-super”…far better than super maxi which evokes feminine hygiene products, something I’m fairly certain Jane Austen never wrote about.

  9. Nicky says:

    love Jane Austen love your empire line dresses – but cannot belong to Miss Elizabeth Bennett due to lack of mud on the hemline!

  10. Pingback: Truth Universally Acknowledged | Girl For All Seasons

Leave a Reply

