Bitty Blocks

1.5 inches I’m having a kind of rough time returning to my sewing room and getting started on new projects. I have a list of things I want to work on, and I know I enjoy the time I spend making things, but I often find that I have to remind myself of that in order to get back on track. Does this happen to other people?

This morning I finished a couple little projects that have been hanging over my head which I think will clear the way for me to get started on some new projects. Before I left for Italy, I made a dozen tiny wonky stars (foundation squares are 1.5 inches, finished squares are 3.5 inches) for the Bitty Block Committee (I love the name of this swap) and this morning I trimmed them down and packaged them to send off. I love these tiny wonky stars in their bright rainbow colors and it is very hard to part with them. Here’s a photo pre-trim.

wonky stars for group 2

These wonky/maverick stars were one of the first “modern” quilting blocks I made and it was fun to return to them in miniature. My cutting and sewing is not at all precise, which these untrimmed squares really show. Luckily once they were trimmed, they looked correct. Now I get to sit back and wait while my dozen arrive in the mail. Once they are here, I’ll have to decide what to do with them. In the meantime, perhaps I can get started on something new.

This entry was posted in sewing, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bitty Blocks

  1. felicity says:

    YES! That totally happens to me. In fact, I started my blog for that very reason. I committed in 2010 to spending at least 20 minutes a day on quilting and the blog was to keep me on track. I think perhaps your trip away and out of your sewing routine is probably what put you “off” – I experience that as well.

  2. Leanne says:

    I love your stars! I try to remember that quilting/sewing is a hobby and that there are times when it does not resonate for me. In those times I try to listen to what fun thing for me that I really want to do and go there for a bit. Also, I try to remember that it is ok to start a new quilting project if that is where I want to be, that I can just play around, Victoria Bumble Beans style. My though is do not make it a chore, let it be fun.

Leave a Reply

