Safety Dance

safety dance What ever sewing malaise I had for the last week and a half left this morning. I think the jet lag + double ear infection + congestion behind my ear drum was taking me out more than I was willing to admit. There’s nothing like feeling better to realize how bad you had been feeling. I got up this morning and set to work on finished my package for the I *heart* the 80’s Swap. I don’t actually know if I heart the 80s–the 90s and early 2000s were waaaaay better for me, but I do heart the 80s video game mini quilts that Jenn of All Trades has been making and I wanted in on her swap.

ghostiesMy original partner for this swap disappeared from the interwebs–deleted her blog and flickr (I hope everything is ok, anonymous friend)–so the fact that I procrastinated on starting this project turned out to be the right thing. I started with the hoop that you saw the beginning of a couple days ago. I traced a stock photo of a record played and added in the colorful grooves and little knob on the left. I took the kids to the I.D.E.A. Store last week and was thrilled to find a set of alphabet stamps for $2. As you can see, I’m having fun with them.

 right roundI haven’t actually glued this into the hoop yet because this one belonged to my grandmother and that’s why the fabric isn’t totally flat. It also looks like I need to put a piece of lining between the front and the back so you can’t see the backing fabric.

we can leave our friends behindMy other item is this zipper pouch. I don’t use much (any) black, so I’m a little out of my comfort zone with this one. I hope it looks sufficiently 80s and still like something I would make. I love the roller skate zipper pull.

and the inside
rainbow inside

This entry was posted in sewing, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Safety Dance

  1. Katy says:

    you have both the songs in my head now 🙂 Hoping I might be your partner!

  2. Kerry says:

    Love your 80s makes- great font to your letters. What a bargain!

  3. The Safety Dance song still baffles me with it’s ironic success;-) Lovely work by the way!

  4. Susan says:

    I love that pouch. Actually, I love everything you made. You have a lucky partner.

  5. Nicky says:

    whoa lovely stuff here – and as I was dancing to these tunes in my youth it takes me back a bit – thanks for the memories and what cool makes

  6. Everything is like totally awesome! Now I will have Safety Dance in my head for awhile but that’s ok : )

  7. Suzanne says:

    Thanks for all the positive feedback, everyone! I need to mail these off soon because every time I look at them (or a photo of them) Safety Dance or You Spin Me Right Round get stuck in my head for hours. It seemed like a good idea at the time.

  8. Alia says:

    a great idea Suzanne and lovely, lovely work! good for you and I hope your original partner is ok too. Poor thing.

Leave a Reply

