Universally Popular Flower

universally popular flower I think that I’ve finished the quilt top for a wall hanging my sister-in-law commissioned as her birthday gift. She was sent me this quilt by SouleMama as inspiration, which was appropriate given that some of our best times together have been on vacation to Lake Michigan. Because I’m making her a wall hanging rather than a full-sized quilt, I wanted to put some sashing between the wonky log cabin blocks so that your eye has someplace to rest. However, once I put the sashing in between the blocks, I was already tired of the grey. I’ve been sitting on this for a couple weeks trying to decide what the solution was, and this morning decided to try breaking up the outside round of sashing with some solids and prints from the blocks. I’m so glad that I did–this is the first time I haven’t done completely solid sashing and I’m really pleased with the result.

IMG_1813 The next question is how to quilt this one. My mind goes directly to straight line quilting, but I’m wondering if I can make some waves without it looking too cheesy. Or what about echo quilting an offset circle, like on this quilt of Krista’s that I love? Any opinions welcome!

This entry was posted in quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Universally Popular Flower

  1. I love the look of circles over wonky log cabins!
    I just joined a How should I quilt this? flickr group you should take a look.

  2. felicity says:

    I can say from experience that the offset concentric circles quilting looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

