Guaranteed to Grow

guaranteed to grow I decided to go with the concentric circles. I started by tracing the base of a paperclip container and then went from there. I loosely used the edge of my walking foot as a guide, but about a third of the way through things got a little wonky. I also started to space the circles a little more widely as I went on. I’m happy with the finished result and am telling myself that the less than even quilting adds an organic feel to the quilt.

full view The concentric circles were much easier than I anticipated, only the first few little ones were challenging to navigate. By the time I got to the tenth or eleventh round it felt like the quilt was spinning itself in the machine. However, I can’t imagine doing them on a full-sized quilt with my machine. I don’t know how others manage all the bulk of a rolled up quilt through their machine.

I am particularly happy with the binding, which is Alexander Henry heath in lime. I searched my entire stash for something that would be appropriate, quickly dismissing all my prints and then despairing that all my solids were too boring (the Kona ash I used for sashing) or strong (Kona coal, any of my shot cottons). Thankfully, the mail arrived mid process and included this heath that I had ordered last week. I’m thrilled with it as a binding and I suspect there will be much more in my future. It acts like a solid, but on closer inspection is much more interesting.

binding

This entry was posted in quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Guaranteed to Grow

  1. felicity says:

    Oh wow this looks just awesome! I love the organic look and the different spacing. Yes, wrangling a larger quilt was challenging – my lines were a little more “organic” than I had originally planned, but it all ended up fine. I am a big fan of Heath, too. I love this quilt!!!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I am seriously dying right now!!! I feel slightly guilty for checking this out on your blog, but can’t help myself. I cannot even believe I will be the lucky recipient of this stunning masterpiece!!! You are amazing!!!! I love everything about it.
    Love you,
    E

    • Suzanne says:

      I almost didn’t post the pictures, Elizabeth, but I couldn’t wait. Don’t worry, I have a couple surprises in store for your birthday package.

  3. Katherine says:

    I love circular quilting on square quilts! That’s how I did my first daughter’s ‘first real bed’ quilt. It really wasn’t too hard to get through my sewing machine, but I did use a thin batting, we live in California, and it is just a twin.

  4. --ginger. says:

    ooooooooooooooo. I reeaalllly like those circles. Dangit. They’re lovely.

  5. Bry says:

    This is gorgeous!! I love how the concentric circle quilting is off centered and mirrors the wonky cabins. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

