Fabulous Friday

anticipationMy blogging friend Felicity has started a new series on her blog called Friday Felicities. Every Friday she shares some she is happy about. Today was the first Friday of the school year and I’ve had a good week but I was tired at the end of the day. However, when I got to my house I found not one, but two packages from abroad that definitely contained felicities.
australian goodiesThe first package was goodies from Australia that I swapped with Sue for some cool gridded paper I’ve been saving from my grade books for the last 15 years. I’ve loved the paper (which is why I’ve been tearing it out every year) and was so happy to find someone else who wanted some. I’m looking forward to watching for where it shows up in her projects. Sue sent me some small pieces of Saffron Craig fabric and two Cherry Ripes. I loooove Cherry Ripe but have never found a source for them in the states.
cute as a what?The second felicity was my Make Mine Modern  swap package which came all the way from Synnovekri in Norway. This crafty woman is a first rate stalker. Everything in the package was perfect for me–the style, colors, tools, etc. were all things that I need or love and would not have made for myself. She included this mini-quilt which is, well, cute as a button.

project pouch A project pouch, which I think a person can never have too many of, and a stack of colorful solids, heath prints, and a newspaper print from Lecien. I think that my hand has finally healed enough that I will be able to start playing with some of the fun new fabric that arrived this week.

affogato The final felicity for today is that while I was typing this, my wonderful partner came home from work and made me an affogato.  What a lovely start to the weekend. Every once in awhile I start to wonder why I sew so many things for strangers (particularly when a swap doesn’t go quite as well as I would have liked), but if I reflect on the last year or so that I have been doing this, I’m pretty amazed at the people I have met and the inspiration and enjoyment that I have have found in reading their blogs, commenting on their projects and swapping fun things. I hope your week is ending well and you have a great weekend ahead of you. Happy sewing!

This entry was posted in blah blah blah, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fabulous Friday

  1. Wendy says:

    What a great mail day! Great items in those packages……

  2. Alison says:

    Ok, I don’t normally comment but the sight of the Cherry Ripe… mmmmm! The only place I’ve ever had them was in Papua New Guinea where of course most products we could buy were Australian. Love to have one of those again! What a fun mail day for you!

  3. Maitreya says:

    As a graph paper aficionado myself, color me jealous!

  4. Sue Brown says:

    I can’t wait to receive your paper. How were the Cherry Ripes? Good as you remember them I hope.

  5. Yumm afogato! I think about the same thing when making things for other people but have come to a similar conclusion. Even when swaps don’t turn out how you planned the positives out way the negatives.

Leave a Reply

