Salty

bebe quilt topWhen we were in high school together, my brother used to say that someone was “salty” when they were upset or angry. I’m not exactly feeling salty about this quilt top that I am making for my brother’s soon-to-arrive son, but I’m not feeling so fabulous about it either. I started out wanting to make a paintbox quilt but got distracted by all the fun prints I wanted to include, which were not monochromatic. So instead, I feel like I’ve ended up with colors that aren’t scrappy enough to be work but are too varied to read as a paintbox. I also have a real problem sewing a straight line–this isn’t supposed to be a wonky quilt top and it isn’t wonky enough to look intentional–just wonky enough to look crooked. Sigh.

salted brown butter crispy treats I did have a little more luck with a couple other salty projects this weekend. I made the salted brown butter crispy treats from smitten kitchen and they are super yum. I couldn’t bring myself to use as much butter as she used so mine aren’t as gooey as hers look, but they taste excellent. I’ve also been planning to make refrigerator pickles for a couple weeks and finally got around to it this weekend. No one had dill at the farmer’s market so I made them without, but I think they will be fine. Now I just have to wait a couple days to enjoy them. I had more brine than cucumbers so also made up a jar of bell peppers and baby carrots.

refrigerator pickles

recipe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Salty

  1. Caroline L says:

    I really like it ! I dont think it looks like you accidentally made it wonky, I quite like it, I don’t think it really matters! Maybe once you quilt it and everything you may like it better?

  2. I like it too! Those are some of my favorite boyish colors. I think you may feel different once it’s quilted and washed, my seams always seem a bit unintentionally wonky until they get washed!

  3. Katy (LethargicLass) says:

    I think the quilt looks really good… give it a few days 🙂

  4. Suzanne says:

    Thank you everyone for your encouragement! I am planning on going forward with this quilt and am hoping that I love it more when it is quilted and crinkly.

  5. Katrina H says:

    I LOVE THE QUILT TOP! I absolutely love it!

  6. Elizabeth says:

    I love it too!!! I looks lovely- we’re always our own worst critics. The colors are terrific and you’ve included some great fabrics that work well. You should be proud!

Leave a Reply

