Truth Universally Acknowledged

Jane!“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.” So begins Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. It is also a truth (which ought to be universally acknowledged) that this mini-quilt made by the quite amiable Bry is amazing! You may remember the Jane Austen mini quilt that I made for Bry earlier this year. We found each other when I was Bry’s partner in the the one and only round of the Scrappy Hoop Swap (that’s one that should happen again) and I don’t remember how we got onto the topic of our mutual affection for Jane. You can read Bry’s post about the making of this jewel–if you can’t tell from the photo, Jane’s silhouette is filled with the first paragraph of Pride and Prejudice (a novel I will be teaching for the first time this year). You can also see my pinterest inspiration board that I made for Bry for this swap. I would not have been able to articulate that I really wanted a cameo quilt, but now that I look at the board again, I can see that there are several images that inspired this little quilt.
truth universally acknowledged
sublime embroidery

This entry was posted in swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Truth Universally Acknowledged

  1. Oh this is just lovely. I too adore Jane, and the colors she chose are amazing also. Lucky you!

  2. randi says:

    wow! this is just lovely!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Are you KIDDING me!? This is so fantastic!

Leave a Reply

