Quick Update

adorable packageLife continues to keep me away from getting much sewing done, and what I do finish hasn’t been getting photographed in a timely fashion. I did receive my pay it forward package from Leila. It came so thoughtfully wrapped, I didn’t really want to open it. But I did and these lovely coasters were inside. They will see much use in my sewing room.

coasters from leilaI found some time this weekend to work on a pair of superhero capes for my nephews. They will make a photographic appearance once they have models. I also made some progress on these kitchen gadget themed bitty blocks (3.5″ x 3.5″). I wanted to make a stove top espresso pot and traced an image of one, cut it out of fabric attached to a fusible web, sewed it down with my machine and have been adding detail with some hand stitching. I make 12 of these, send 11 out and then get 11 different kitchen gadgets in return. There is some really astonishing tiny paper piecing going on this round.

bitty block test I was super proud of my little espresso pot until someone on flickr asked if it was a one-armed dress (the exact same question asked of Lynne when she made a similar block). I was hoping the comment was a funny, inside flickr/blog joke, but alas no.

sneak peek for KristaWhile I had the camera out, I took the opportunity to take a sneak peek photo of the front of the pouch I am making for Krista in a private swap. I’ve used several of my favorite prints in this paper pieced star and I’m loving it. Hopefully I’ll find the time to assemble it onto a zipper pouch soon.

This entry was posted in sewing, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick Update

  1. Leila says:

    Ooh that paper pieced star looks excellent!!
    So glad you like your coasters Suzanne. I am looking forward to see how you are going to pay it forward!

  2. I LOVE the espresso pot. Wonderful! I’ve just wandered by from the SBM and am very glad I found your blog. I especially like the pieces you’ve done that combine sewn elements with embroidery and/or with text. Very cool. And that mustache sweater is incredible. 🙂

Leave a Reply

