Seeing Stars

pouch for kristaWork and family have really slowed down the pace of creation at Chateau All Seasons. I finished this pouch for Krista a couple weeks ago and only last night finished the hoop that goes along with it. I really fell in love with the process of making these paper pieced stars this summer and am fond of how nicely they show off some of my favorite fabrics. I do have to admit that I prefer them in smaller doses, like on this pouch, than as many as I put together for the doll quilt I made.

metal zipperThe pouch is Essex Linen and quilted to a cotton batting. I used a variegated grey Aurifil thread for the quilting.  This was the first project that I used the Aurifil I won from Kerry and it did not disappoint. I was chuffed to find this vintage zipper at our local re-use store. I love how a metal zipper feels so much weightier.

mr rainy daze The pouch is designed as a project pouch and should have space to carry around a 9-11″ hoop, needles, scissors, thread, and everything else Krista will need to complete her fabulous (and sassy) embroidery. It will be accompanied by Mr. Rainy Daze, who is a close relative of Rainy Daze, the hoop I made in the first (and only) Scrappy Hoop Swap.

I’m off to Colorado on Saturday to hang out with my brother and his family. My sister-in-law has already dubbed my visit “Craftoberfest” so I’m sure I will have some fun projects to share when I return!

This entry was posted in sewing, swaps. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Seeing Stars

  1. Oh! This is such a fun hoop and you already know I adore the project pouch. Oh, lucky me!!!! I LOVE the map fabric and bought two panels of it my self after seeing it in Gayle Brindley’s photostream over the summer. Have a wonderful trip and don’t stress about posting – anytime is great. I’m starting over on your hoop, so it’ll be next week for your package anyway.
    xx

  2. Alli says:

    Both the bag and the hoop are fantastic! Mr. Rainy Daze is beyond adorable!

  3. Leila says:

    Love the hoop and your pouch!!

  4. Kerry says:

    Beautiful pouch, so calm with those radiating shapes, and the hoop is great fun too!

  5. randi says:

    this pouch is so pretty!

  6. krista says:

    It’s amazing! And man, that hoop! I might need to look for some of that map fabric. I love that it actually shows Alaska connected to everything else. It seems like we’re always floating off in some little square somewhere!

  7. Bryanna says:

    Love the pouch but that hoop is beyond awesome!!! Gosh I wish they would organize another scrappy hoop swap round! That was a great swap.

  8. Monica says:

    What a gorgeous pouch!

Leave a Reply

