$500 buys a lot of books

*image from etsy seller septemberhouse

Chronicle Books is hosting an incredible contest. One lucky blogger will win $500 worth of books + $500 worth of books for a friend + $500 worth of books for a charity of their choice. If I were that lucky blogger, I would choose the following books (with a smattering of post-it notes and stationary thrown in for good measure–you can get a book to read at the library but they don’t look kindly on stealing their post-its):

World of Geekcraft: Step-by-Step Instructions for 25 Super-Cool Craft Projects $19.95
Paper + Craft: 25 Charming Gifts, Accents, and Accessories to Make from Paper $19.95
Little Book of Letterpress $24.95
Hot Type: 20 Sheets of Typographic Fabric Decals New and Improved $14.95
Curiosities: Vintage-Inspired Adornments for Gifts and Correspondence $24.95
Reprodepot Pattern Book: Flora: 225 Vintage-Inspired Textile Designs $24.95
The Printmaking Bible: The Complete Guide to Printing Materials and Techniques $50.00
Lace Knitting to Go: 25 Lovely Laces to Use for Edgings, Embellishments, and More $16.95
Kyuuto! Japanese Crafts! Lacy Crochet! $14.95
Subversive Cross Stitch: 33 Designs for Your Surly Side $14.95
Vintage Alphabet Stamps: Sign Language $16.95
Pantone: 100 Postcards $19.95
Haikubes $24.95
Lotta Jansdotter Notes & To-Do’s $12.95
Kitchen Sticky Notes: Helpful Notes for the Home Cook $12.95
Oh Joy! Labels & Stickers $10.95
Pictorial Webster’s Wall Cards: Icons and Curiosities from A to Z $24.95
Crafty Stickers $10.95
Tartine Bread $40
Poulet: 160 Remarkable Recipes that Exalt the Honest Chicken $27.50
Time for Dinner: Strategies, Inspiration, and Recipes for Every Night of the Week $24.95
Slow Cooker: The Best Cookbook Ever: With More Than 400 Easy-to-Make Recipes  $24.95
Holiday Crafting & Baking with Kids: Gifts, Sweets, and Treats for the Whole Family! $19.95

The charity that I would choose to get their own  $500 worth of books would be Urbana-Champaign Books to Prisoners, an organization that I have been volunteering with for the last six years.  We never have enough how-t0-draw books to meet the requests we get, and Chronicle publishes several nice titles.

If you want to throw in your lot with me and get the $500 worth of books for a friend (if I’m the lucky blogger), just leave me a comment on this post. I’ll be sure to let you know if I win.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to $500 buys a lot of books

  1. Laura says:

    Oh man, $500 worth of books would be great. Good luck to you!

  2. Pétra says:

    Wow what a great contest and it’s even better that they are donating to a charity as well!! Good luck!

  3. felicity says:

    I love the idea of this contest, especially the donating-to-charity part.

  4. Lindsay says:

    Sweet list! And a lovely charity!

  5. Kerry says:

    Gotta be worth a punt, what a prize, and sharing good in multiple ways too

  6. Rafael's mum says:

    Sounds like an amazing contest! Best of luck. I think I’d be making lists into next week if I tried 🙂

  7. Bryanna says:

    You made some great picks, and that looks like a great charity you work with! Good for you! Plus I am so your friewnd! 😉

  8. bess says:

    best of luck to you! and thanks for being a great example of volunteering. 🙂

  9. Jodi Sellers says:

    Wow, that would be awesome. I love to read.

  10. Alli says:

    Hehe, I was curious about the subversive cross-stitch book, too! 😀

  11. Great giveaway and an interesting list.

  12. Lorna E says:

    That would be awesome to get for Books to Prisoners! It would be awesome to share with me too! 😉

  13. nfmgirl says:

    Cookbooks are always extra sweet for me! Good luck!

  14. Kelly says:

    I didn’t have room for any crafty books or cookbooks on my own list, so if I don’t win my own haul, I’d love to win yours!

  15. Kelly says:

    I was tempted by Subversive Cross Stitch too! If I don’t win my picks on my own blog, these would do just fine!

  16. Pamela says:

    What a great list! I would love to win this with you.

  17. Catie says:

    Nice variety of books. Good luck to you!

  18. jeaneC says:

    lOVE your book list.. good luck to both of us 😀

  19. Rhianna says:

    Great list! I keep seeing World of Geekcraft—one of my first choices—listed. 😀

    Great charity choice as well! I didn’t think to look into a similar program in my area. Maybe next year.

    Good luck and happy haulidays! 😉

    — Rhianna

  20. janiera says:

    I love these craft books! This is an amazing contest.
    Here is my Happy Haulidays

  21. green4u says:

    Great books. I am amazed at everyone’s lists they are all so different (mine included). I really love their crafting and cookbooks.

  22. Throuthehaze says:

    World of Geekcraft is on my list too 🙂 Good luck!

  23. couturerin says:

    Vintage alphabet stamps looks amazing and magical! great list and I would be honored to win it! Check my list out if you get a chance and enter to win my list!

  24. Audrey says:

    That is an awesome giveaway, and I love your choices. I am going to have to make my own list!

  25. Leslie says:

    Oooh, my sister-in-law would love all those craft books. I’m more of a baking girl myself. Good luck!

  26. Tran Nguyen says:

    Great picks! Good luck!

  27. Love your list! Best of luck to everyone!

  28. Aweseome book list! Good luck!

    Check out my list here

    xxsquigglesxx(At)Gmail(dot)com

  29. Patricia Petrino says:

    Your book list contains so many that I would choose for myself, that I had to comment! I love reading, crafting, and am trying to become a better cook, so your list is perfect for me. I see that you are a knitter, and that’s something I can’t do, but wish I could. I think your charity choice is great, what a wonderful idea! Hoping that you win, and then maybe me too. 🙂

  30. Joanne says:

    Great list! I’d love to win these, if I don’t win my own. Good luck!

  31. Homa says:

    I am a big fan of cross stitch, sounds like a fun book!

  32. Fay says:

    Lace Knitting would be a pleasure to look through. Not sure I have enough patience to do it, though. Good luck! – Fay

  33. Love your list! And your charity’s really unique. Sounds like a great place for the money to go to!

    love for you to stop by & comment on mine 🙂 amyreneonline.com

  34. fishgirl182 says:

    nice list. i love chronicle books. good luck!

  35. Arlee Bird says:

    Great mix of picks! Good luck!

    find my list at:
    Tossing It Out
    Lee

  36. Excellent picks, very tempting!

  37. Quilty Jen says:

    Great picks! I love thier selection of cook books. Good luck!

  38. Kristy says:

    Great book list and love that stitching at the top of your post! Good luck!

  39. ccgevry says:

    Great list. The Holiday Crafting and Baking with Kids is on my list too. Good luck!

    Cheryl

  40. jaxiejax says:

    love this list. Let’s win!

  41. ANN* says:

    Lots of books here that would interest me.

  42. Margaret says:

    Love your list!

  43. Love that photo! 🙂

    Good luck and happy holidays!

  44. lace says:

    Great list! Crafty Stickers looks good

  45. Heidi Staples says:

    What a fantastic giveaway!

  46. Erika says:

    Wow! Makes me wish I had a blog! Great selection on the charity as well!

Leave a Reply

