2011

Made in 2011

I just tallied up the books I read on goodreads and realized I’ve read 65 books in 2011. Then I clicked over to flickr to make this mosaic of what I made in 2011 and realized that the maximum allowed 36 photos wouldn’t cover everything I’ve made this past year. I’ve written 85 blog posts since February of 2011–when this blog was unleashed upon the world–and all of this on top of working my full-time job, feeding a family of four, volunteering, visiting family, and maintaining friendships. Somewhere along the line I got it into my head that I have a tendency to be lazy, but when I look at the numbers, it’s hard to see where I got that idea.

Some trends I notice about the things I made last year:

  • I’m moving more and more towards hand work–embroidery on projects gave way to English paper piecing which gave way to hand quilting.
  • I have a preference for the immediate gratification of small projects versus big quilts.
  • I’m gaining a better sense of what my own style and taste are, rather than trying to make what I am seeing everyone else make in the colors and fabrics they are also using.

What I think you’ll see from me in 2012:

  • Lots more letterpress. I just signed up for a Valentine’s Day card making class in the end of January and my spouse and I were talking about the next print he wants to make.
  • More hand stitching. This was under the Christmas tree for me. My mom has a crazy quilt top that my grandmother pieced but didn’t finish that we want to embellish and assemble.
  • Foundation paper piecing bee blocks. I’ve been invited to join the Pastiche Bee and will be jumping into the deep end with foundation piecing.

Here’s a sneak peek of some redecorating we’ve been working on over the holiday break. I’ll share more when it is finished.

redecorating sneak peek

What does 2012 have in store for you?

This entry was posted in blah blah blah, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2011

  1. Kerry says:

    It is always interesting to see your personal style develop over a year, hand quilting definitely suits your work. And the decor intrigues me! I love it already

  2. Elisabeth says:

    I’m seriously impressed with the volume of your blogging since February!! Your quilts and projects are always so lovely. For me, 2012 promises a first tattoo and personal growth independent of a relationship.

  3. Lindsay says:

    Looking forward to seeing your letterpress–that will be fun! Please join our year-end link party at http://www.craftbuds.com/craft-buds-2011-year-in-review-link-party if you’d like!

  4. Pétra says:

    You have done so much in the past year Congratulations!! I can’t wait to see what you have in store for 2012.

  5. Jodi Robertson says:

    I love my A-Z books. They are the best embroidery stitch books I have found. I have the one you got plus Volume 2, Bullion Stitch and Stump work and find myself constantly referring to them.
    Enjoy stitching.
    Jodi

Leave a Reply

