Slow Crafting

slow rose starDo you know the slow food movement? I seem to be in the midst of a slow craft moment these days. Inspired by selfsewn’s Rose Star Block Party, I spent a day doing some English Paper Piecing, but after about 8 hours, I still don’t have much to show.

rose star pieces I cut out fabric pieces for two stars, and have basted all of them to their paper patterns, but haven’t gotten far with the whip stitching together. I don’t have a specific project in mind or a deadline on these so they are only being worked on when they call my name.

slow beginningsI’ve also chosen my theme for the Hoop Up! Stitch & Send swap and am starting on my inspiration piece for that. My theme will be images of reading drawn from vintage children’s illustrations.  I found a treasure trove of images in this set on flickr. I received a lap stand for Christmas that I’m testing out with this project. So far it has been very nice to work with sitting at a table, I haven’t tested it in my lap yet though.

mulberry honeyI’ve started a honey cowl with some lovely 50/50 merino/silk yarn that I’ve had on hand for a couple of years. It is a very easy project to work on while chatting with others or chaperoning a high school dance (as I did last night). I also finished this feather and fan scarf, which had been done on my needles for months and only needed to be cast off and blocked.

certain slant of light

It’s been cold and grey and very busy at work recently and I’m enjoying working on projects by hand without any deadlines. There are days when I feel like I should be producing more, although for what or whom, I have no idea.  The truth is that so much of my mental energy is being used at work right now that I don’t have a lot of space left for my own creative projects. I’m trying to accept that for now and know that these things are cyclical. In the mean time I’m knitting and stitching when I can and reading a lot more, burrowed into my down comforter with the space heater on.

How are you spending the dark part of the year?

This entry was posted in knitting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Slow Crafting

  1. felicity says:

    Your projects are all so beautiful! The knitting especially – wow! I am spending this dark time stitching (by machine). Love to quilt by the sound of rain pouring down on the skylight….

  2. Becky M says:

    Everything is gorgeous. I love those hexagons and look forward to seeing more of them.

  3. Kris says:

    I am paper piecing, like you and have also found they take awhile but isn’t it relaxing! The whip stitch part is my favorite. I love your fussy cut pieces. I’m doing a couple of other QALs too, and of course…dishes and laundry!!

  4. Andrea says:

    I have started the Rose Star blocks too – no matter that I already have another 4 English Paper Piecing projects on the go. Slow and steady wins the race – lol. All good fun. I have some knitting to do to but have been having a little pain in my shoulder when I do it do am having a rest from that for now.

  5. Bryanna says:

    i LOVE your paper piecing!! I have recently been hand sewing more than on my machine lately what with moving and my machine being packed away. I love the whip stitching part but dont really like the basting part.

  6. randi says:

    i am really looking forward to seeing your rose star blocks. the fabrics you picked are lovely!

  7. Pingback: Rose Star | Girl For All Seasons

Leave a Reply

