What is the Up?

superbowl stichin'This blog is nearing a year old (2/23/11 was my first post). When I started the blog I promised myself that I wasn’t going to impose any rules about how often I post, make myself feel bad about not posting, write long posts about why I haven’t been posting, or keep blogging past the time when I was enjoying it. Now that I am almost a year into this project, and have been absent more than present in this space since the beginning of the new year, my resolve is being tested.

The truth, for me, is that life happens sometimes in a way that doesn’t leave much space for creativity. Or the space is so small, timid and rare, I don’t want to point it out to the world, lest it run away. I’m in one of those places now–when work and life and family seem to be taking up all the available oxygen in the room. I have faith that this too shall pass and that I’ll be back soon with creativity to spare.

Until then, I hope you are well and furiously making lots of wonderful things.

This entry was posted in blah blah blah, stitching. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What is the Up?

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    I know what you’re saying. If I were still working I don’t know if I could be maintaining a regular blog. And now that my kids are grown and have moved away I see that gives me a lot of extra time so that I can do other things. But still, now I know I have to find a job, but hate the thought of possibly having to give up a lot of my blogging activities. Then it will be a choice between writing and bloggging.

    Perhaps you should take a long walk in an interesting environ, watch an excellent movie, or read a book and see if the inspiration revives you to creativity.

    Lee
    An A to Z Co-Host
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

  2. I’m feeling that small space too…and it’s tricky. I’m trying to get my 3 year old hooked on Lego’s so I can get some more time to sew and be inspired by lovely blogs like yours (almost kidding about the Lego’s part). There is great joy though, in these other moments that have squeezed out my creative me-time (hopefully there is for you also)…but I’ve found that it’s always helpful to me to do something just for me, no matter how small or silly it may be (a nice hot shower all to myself with the lock on the bathroom door is sometimes all it is). This too shall pass, and hopefully a better balance, or more pleasing one, will show up….eventually.

    And never feel that you have to apologize for having a life, or feel pressured to blog more frequently. My feeling is that whatever we chose to do in the limited “free time” we have should be fun and enjoyable. And if it’s not…wait until it is again, and the reunion will be that much better.

  3. Kerry says:

    See when you are ready, time and creativity always return

  4. Janet K says:

    I don’t blog as often as I’d like either – but that’s just the way life goes at certain point!
    I listed you on my blog for the “Versatile Blogger” Award – check it out!
    janet
    entropyundone.blogspot.com

  5. Pingback: Yes, I’m still making | Girl For All Seasons

Leave a Reply

