NSFW Merit Badges and a Crafternoon

IMG_0286

I made another batch of merit badges on Friday afternoon. Despite having NSFW language on them, they are actually for the authors who are writing chapters for the book I’m co-editing about teaching books with taboo and controversial content. My authors turned in draft chapters this weekend and I’ll be delivering merit badges and dark chocolate to them this week. I tried to make this round of merit badges the same size as the last batch (about 1 inch in diameter) but the text was not readable. I have three more to make this afternoon and I’m going to try a darker color thread for the text which I think will help with readability. Although, as you can see with the “I heart swears” badge below, the thread connecting the letters is very visible when it is black. More experimenting required.

IMG_0287

On Saturday afternoon I had a group of friends over for a Crafternoon (after my friend Wendy mentioned in a volunteer profile that she could “be found sipping cocktails at crafternoon parties”). I made French 75s, which were delicious and went down a little too easy, and my friends knit, sewed, worked on photobooks, cut paper, and were generally lovely to hang out with, but very hard to photograph.

IMG_4961

I decided that what I needed to do was to wind a hank of yarn without a swift. This is the SECOND time in one week I’ve thought this was a good idea and the second time I ended up with hours of untangling knots. Hard not to see the choice to try and wind without a swift and against my better judgement (and the resulting knots) as a metaphor for life. IMG_0283IMG_0288

This entry was posted in knitting, sewing, stitching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NSFW Merit Badges and a Crafternoon

  1. How did you make those badges? I need some myself!!!

Leave a Reply

